My parents still subscribe to Vancouver’s daily paper, The Columbian.  This afternoon while sitting down for a quick snack, I read two stories.  One was about a 20-year-old male who was shot near my old high school.  The other was about neighborhood opposition to a new Costo being built.  I spent only about 10 minutes looking through the paper and stopped reading both stories before the jumps. 

Additionally this morning while checking my AOL e-mail , I saw a story online about a possible hate crime.  I read most of it, which took about three minutes.  The headline caught my attention because the accused was only 16.  I also read the summaries of stories about “The Big Bang Theory” television show, kitchen bacteria and a body found in a Des Moines park.

As a non-news fanatic, I’m noticing I tend to only look at stories that are extremely convenient to find.  For example, the stories on my e-mail homepage or that are sitting on the kitchen table.  I also usually only choose stories that directly relate to my life or have an absurd teaser headline.  I guess  I am the consumer most editors hate, not willing to spend time reading and mainly interested in fluff.  Uh-oh.

