The Seattle P-I's famous globe

I must admit that I do not check news sites daily. (I know, I know … I’m shaming the journalism major.)  I’m not all that interested in hard news.  I like fluff, and I want to work for women’s magazines.  If I didn’t intern at seattlepi.com, I probably wouldn’t read much news at all.  But alas, I am an intern, and not just any intern, a copy-editing intern, and therefore today I read EVERY (and I mean every) story and staff blog on the P-I’s site from start to finish.

Having done this, I got news in all areas.  For example, in politics (Sources: House, Senate strike a tax deal), sports (M’s down to final 12 pitchers with Olson’s demotion), entertainment (John Mayer rocks Seattle; gets cheers – and a pair of undies) and crime (Man charged with stealing more than $50,000 from disabled victim).  I also read blog posts on aerospace and Microsoft.  Aside from the John Mayer piece, I wouldn’t have chose to read any of the stories on my own.

To read all the stories took me about three hours.  Though I did read all the stories from start to finish, towards the end of my workday I don’t know how much of the actual content I was able to take in.  I looked for typos and misspellings, but the meaning of the words tended to leave me.

If I hadn’t worked at the P-I today, the only news I would have received were the weather and traffic updates on 100.7 FM, the country radio station I listened to for about an hour or so on my drive home to Vancouver, Wash.

Photo credit (Fair use): www.seattledebate.org/
.

